Letter to the CEO, again!

Dear CEO,

Are you a designer?

Not that I have not known you all these time, but I must ask if you are a designer? Why am I asking?

I think me and you, like many other younger entrepreneurs, especially the techpreneurs have to change what we do. I have read about the many successes around the world where newer stuff (those techies are ruining our plans!) are ruling the customers! Ours too!

They seem to be able to magically come out with something that the world wanted them so much. Something that they have not seen or tasted before, but surely, they are buying. It is mind boggling. Do you know why?

I am not sure if those ideas have something to do with the fact they understood the Gen Y better than us. I mean with the fact that Gen Y guys will be our top CEOs by 2025 and you and me already in our grey hats surely, we are missing something.

Just cross my mind, if we could not do it perhaps, we should allow someone from within can be given the opportunity to do so. I believe the younger blood, if not us should take the challenge to rework on our prized horses and our processes. I think it is just more that the process re-engineering we learnt back in the 90s. I think a radical change in our office here is necessary. We need a real transformation if not magical immediately.

Could you look out for someone that you could promote within your area that can see differently? Someone younger and probably, those who are able to understand the demand better? I mean look at Howard Shultz, he is actually stepping out to allow Kevin Johnson to work on the more tech stuff with so much as stake for Starbucks. I mean he knew he would probably can do the job but eventually, like our prized horses Starbucks know that the corporation is what matters.

Honestly, me and you have proven ourselves but eventually the younger world of customers that we are dealing with is changing so fast in taste and buying patterns are going to rule. We need someone to redesign how we open for business tomorrow!

The designer must be someone with that conviction that we had when we started this business, someone that is so passionate about the need to grow the company the way he or she wanted it. I mean in creating a demand for our brand name. Customers associate their needs to our brand name knowing that there are thousands of the same goods in this market. The designer must make them associate it to ours. Just like the one we are having now for the past thirty years.

Please give this a thought overnight and I am ready to discuss with you and the team in the next few days. We have to show them the way, getting them to seriously focus on designing a better in whatever we do to serve our customers. I believe this is out next growth path.

Let us start from our thoughts!

Thanks for leaving your reply :)

