Just a simple Rhinestone Cowboy!

Is life that complicated? Can life be like a river flowing leisurely for ages like those in the Amazon? What makes life complicated or shall I say who make your life complicated, you yourself or someone else did? With all the pressures of urban living and the need to compete for oxygen (just kidding), do you think we can make our lives less complicated? I don’t know but sure is, I am not alone.

Each time I read about news of celebrities divorcing, breaking up and beating each other, I can’t help but to ponder and wonder if life in their shoes can be any less complicated. Are the complications self-made or man-made? Choices that they make would probably be part of the ever revolutionary complication, ranging from drugs, ego, revenge and “just want to be better”. I remember a very nice and simple song by Glen Campbell, Rhinestone Cowboy, popularised in the seventies. It probably depicts lives of cowboys’ back then, simple and confronting conflict man-to-man and cowboy-to-cowboy! Yet this song reminds me of the need to reach your goals, finding your way, the cowboy way?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOJN5VY1xYc

Just appreciate the lyrics and it will tell you the determination of the simple cowboy, remembering what has been set out to do and just doing it, realising that there will be a lot of compromises in life. Probably that is part and parcel of a cowboy’s life, same for us too.

I’ve been walkin’ these streets so long
Singin’ the same old song
I know every crack in these dirty sidewalks of Broadway
Where hustle’s the name of the game

Sometimes we knew that are just too many things that were going not quite right from our perspective, probably that is what they were. Are we going to make things more complicated by changing things there? Or should we see the other extreme, by not changing the way things were, our lives will be less complicated? Can we remove all the social ills or simple office politics?

And nice guys get washed away like the snow and the rain

There’s been a load of compromisin’
On the road to my horizon
But I’m gonna be where the lights are shinin’ on me

Of course we sometimes see the good guys get washed away, have they not compromise enough? The nature of the work, business and culture in one’s environment would probably answer some of the rain that has washed our dreams, our integrity, our ethics and our dignity. But then again, would you want to compromise?

Like a rhinestone cowboy
Riding out on a horse in a star-spangled rodeo
Like a rhinestone cowboy
Getting cards and letters from people I don’t even know
And offers comin’ over the phone

You would probably more celebrated holding your own principles but I can’t, no one will ever I guess, guarantee that your life would be less complicated. It is very diverse from what we are dealing with; marriage and relationships, office relationships, parenthood etc.

Well, I really don’t mind the rain
And a smile can hide all the pain
But you’re down when you’re ridin’ the train that’s takin’ the long way

And I dream of the things I’ll do
With a subway token and a dollar tucked inside my shoe
There’ll be a load of compromisin’
On the road to my horizon
But I’m gonna be where the lights are shinin’ on me

I like this part of the lyrics, it tells the need to remember our dreams, use whatever we have in our pockets and trying very much to give and take in our surroundings. Sounds good and effective but we have to really have to try; opening ourselves to work with others. This is probably a better approach to realise your dream and making life less complicated isn’t? I am sure life becomes complicated as we only see what we see but not others’.

Like a rhinestone cowboy
Riding out on a horse in a star-spangled rodeo
Rhinestone cowboy
Gettin’ cards and letters from people I don’t even know
And offers comin’ over the phone

Like a rhinestone cowboy
Riding out on a horse in a star-spangled rodeo

FADE
Like a rhinestone cowboy
Gettin’ card and letters from people I don’t even know

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BBWOdASBjm0

2 thoughts on “Just a simple Rhinestone Cowboy!

Thanks for leaving your reply :)

