What is the penalty in your Country if…

I am posting this post out of curiosity what would be the penalty in your country should the following accident took place in your country. Firstly I think it is justified for a disclaimer on my side, I have no intention to undermine the judicial process in my country neither would I want to create a bias view of the whole incident. I just felt that the outcome of the penalty is less than justified and I am curious to look at the benchmark in other countries.

I want to hear from as many countries as possible on what would be the penalty if the following accident happened.

1. An earlier accident happened (not related), one good Samaritan came down to help.

2. Of course it created a traffic slow down on this Highway.

3. One impatient driver squeezed through the traffic and hit the good Samaritan and dragged him for some distance.

4. He did not stop to help, but others did. He sped off.

5. He later made a police report.

6. Good Samaritan rushed to hospital, has his one leg amputated.

7. Good Samaritan went into state of unconsciousness and later died some 11 days later.

8. This case was reclassified as a case of causing death by reckless or dangerous driving under Section 41 of the Road Transport Act 1987, which leads to a fine of up to RM10,000 or imprisonment of up to five years or both upon conviction.

9. The driver was let off the hook with a mere RM5,500 (USD 1,800) fine and his driving license “endorsed”. (He is allowed to continue driving..added after original post)

For a more accurate account look at http://www.mmail.com.my/content/70817-family-let-law-take-its-course

Please share with me the penalties in your country. Thank you.

One thought on “What is the penalty in your Country if…

Add yours

  1. I’m from the US, and this type of incident would probably cause the driver to be sent to prison for a few years, depending on the lawyer. I think they’d classify it as vehicular manslaughter.

Thanks for leaving your reply :)

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

