Take Me Home, Country Roads …

As I age, I begin to feel that there are some small voices that are constantly whispering and reminding me of my pasts. Not surprise at all, as one tend to spend too much time working, thinking enjoying etc that sometimes we have forgotten certain aspect of life or someone who maybe we have neglected. I think this reminder wants us to take some time off to rekindle our past. I think there are a thing or two that we can learn from the past. It could be simply events that we have long pocketed in the furthest corner of our mind and heart. Take some time to recall those days. maybe give someone a call, maybe visit them. Or maybe a place that your soul is longing to return to, go back in time. Go and visit those places that have been long forgotten and neglected.

One of the good song that reminds me about the pasts is John Denver’s “Take me home, country roads”. This gentleman has written and sang this lovely tune that reminds me and reminding me again not to forget one’s root or pasts.

“Almost heaven, west virginia
Blue ridge mountains, shenandoah river”

….those were the first two lines from Grammy Hall of Fame Award winner John Denver. Born Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr., Denver was not afraid to steal his dad’s car and drive to California to start his singing career. He knew at that time he belongs to somewhere better than a nomadic lifestyle, as his dad’s was a military man transferring the family to many places. John Denver was a classic case of someone who knows what he wanted and had pursued them diligently.

“Life is old there, older than the trees
Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze”

….a prolific singer-song writer-instrumentalist his lyrics had seen him shot to fame along with the bests of Annie’s Song, Rocky Mountain High and Leaving on a Jet Plane. He started playing the guitar at the age of 12, a present from his grandma. he went on to play for his school at that time and in some local clubs.

The best part of this lyric is the chorus and have made the world singing along till today with this piece of evergreen.

“Country roads, take me home
To the place, I be-long
West virginia, mountain momma
Take me home, country roads”

And of course the time when I was younger has great memories, sometimes I wish to go back to those days where I will have less worry and commitment. Those were the days, growing with my siblings and neighbours.

All my mem’ries, gather ’round her
Miner’s lady, stranger to blue water
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye

Country roads, take me home
To the place, I be-long
West virginia, mountain momma
Take me home, country roads

This is the best part that sets me to write this post, appreciate the following lines:

I hear her voice, in the mornin’ hours she calls to me
The radio reminds me of my home far a-way
And drivin’ down the road I get a feeling’
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday

Country roads, take me home
To the place, I be-long
West virginia, mountain momma
Take me home, country roads

So, make it a point go home, go back to places, go wherever, go back to your parents and family. spend some time with them. Catch up with time, look at the changes that have taken place. Capture the remaining of the good memories before its gone forever. Take photographs, write about them and share them with your children, your spouse and your friends. Update your memories, your brain is longing for them. Go, go today!

P/S. lookout for “take me home, country roads” in YouTube and you’ll know what i mean.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MWzeInQaUk4

2 thoughts on “Take Me Home, Country Roads …

Thanks for leaving your reply :)

